Coffee Roastery

Coffee and Cacao Roastery

We Love Excellent Coffee!

And that’s exactly what we want to offer you. For that reason, all of our coffee and cacao varieties are roasted fresh in our shop using only the highest quality raw beans from South and Middle America, Asia, or Africa. We pay meticulous attention to detail — from the selection of green coffee and cacao, to our roasting process, to the blend of varieties we create — in order to bring you a perfect final product.

Our artisanal roasting process allows us to offer you exceptional coffees that are fundamentally different from those produced industrially. We roast our beans in a traditional “Probat” drum roaster, slowly, in small batches, and at low temperatures that are carefully calibrated and suited to each varietal. Through this optimal process the more than 800 different aromas in the bean are brought to life creating an especially aromatic, flavorful coffee which is also low in acidity.

You’re welcome to look over our shoulder as we roast a batch, and enjoy the wafting of coffee and chocolate aromas and the crackling of beans. Naturally you can enjoy all of our delicious coffees at the café, and you can also buy a bag of fresh whole or ground beans to take with you. You can also purchase our coffees at our online shop.
Image Gallery: Coffee Roastery >

Bakery

Bakery

Like it Used to Be, Made by Hand With Love

Baking is an art that combines a love of hand work, with skill, experience and the finest ingredients. Our cakes and pies are still made in our bakery like they used to be, by hand with love and only the very best ingredients, just for you.

Not only do all our fine cakes and pies come out of our own bakery at Pakolat, but also the fresh rolls and brick oven sour dough bread for our delicious breakfasts and sandwiches. We give our bread the time it needs to rise. In addition to that, the only thing that goes into our home baked breads is flour, yeast, salt and water. That’s all a good bread needs to be purely delicious, so that’s all that goes into ours — no additives or preservatives.

Anyone who wishes can peer through the grand old Berlin factory window at the back of our café and watch us at work baking. Let the warm sweet smells wake up your appetite.
Image Gallery: Bakery >

Sweet

Sweet

Every Slice a Pure Delight

Each of our desserts is a special treat for your palette. We blend traditional techniques and recipes that have been handed down, with current trends from the modern French patisserie. We have a diverse assortment ranging from fine cakes, pies and cookies, and even a few homemade chocolate pralines. Our selection changes throughout the year to allow us to work with the best seasonal fruits and berries.
Image Gallery: Sweet >

Custom Designs

Cake Orders

For Weddings and Special Occasions

From Our Assortment

Would you like a whole cake or pie from our assortment? We’d be happy to take your order. But remember — good things take time! Please give us 1 to 3 days advanced notice, so we can fit your order into our busy baking schedule.

Special Orders

Perhaps you need something unique for a special event? For those special occasions such as weddings, christenings, bithdays or coporate events we’d be happy to create a beautiful custom designed cake just for you. Be sure to get in touch at least 3 weeks in advance of your event so we can set up an appointment, with no obligations, to discuss the possibilites. Feel free to bring along photos of cakes you like, fabric swatches from your dress, or the invitation, etc. to help us design your dream cake. Simply share your ideas with us and we’ll try to make all your “sweet” dreams come true.

The Pakolat Bakery looks forward to your special order! Tel: (030) 44 79 38 83
Image Gallery: Custom Designs >

Savory

Savory

Carefully Selected Gourmet Specialties

If you’re in the mood for something savory, we serve breakfasts and light fare all day. We have something for every taste — from an assortment of the finest cold cuts and cheese specialties from Italy, Spain and France to vegan breakfast or fruit plates. Carefully selected and exquisitely prepared, just for you.

Try, for example, one of our meat and cheese platters with tasty cheeses from France and Spain, plus Serrano ham and Italian salamis, delicately sliced on our antique hand cranked Berkel B2 slicing machine. Or try a hearty slice of Pakolat’s stone-oven baked sour dough bread with delicious butter and, depending on your taste, a topping of ham, salami, cheese and the finest spreads. If you prefer, you can also choose from an assortment of baguette or hot panini.

All our ingredients are sourced at local markets, directly from the producer or from specially selected gourmet purveyors. Our aim is to bring you food that is tasty, healthy and sustainable. There’s something to satisfy everyone’s appetite.
Image Gallery: Savory >

Hot Drinks

Hot Drinks

Relax and Enjoy

We make sure to extract the best of the coffe bean. Our experienced baristas take great care to strictly adhere to the optimum amounts, extraction times and temperatures which are crucial to drawing an exquisite coffee. We use two different brewing methods in order to ensure that our freshly roasted coffees unfold their aromas to the fullest in your cup.

One method uses a FAEMA E 61. This is a semi-automatic Italian espresso machine that was developed in the early 60’s but still sets the standard when it comes to making a perfect espresso. We use our house blend “No 2”, made from a mix of finest arabica 60% and robusta 40% beans, in our espresso based specialty drinks.

The other method, for classic coffee, employs a Rowenta double-filter machine from 1955. In this machine the freshly ground coffee is extracted under a pressure of 0.5 bar and flows through two separate filters. In this way, all the distinct nuances of our different coffee varietals with their more than 800 distinguishable aromas are brought to full bloom.

In addition to our many coffee specialties, we offer more than 20 types of loose teas with premium grade leaf quality. We also serve delicious hot chocolate, made with the finest French Valrhona chocolate. In order to satisfy every taste, we also have an assortment of fresh ginger, citrus or fruit infusions.
Image Gallery: Hot Drinks >

Historic Detail

History

Over 110 Years of Baking History

Raumer Street 40 is a location with more than 110 years of baking history. The 20th century had just begun when young master baker Albin Haubold opened the first gourmet bakery at this address in 1901. He successfully operated the bakery for decades until his retirement. Sometime in the 40’s the bakery Otto Lucko moved in and operated here probably until the early 70’s. When exactly Lucko baked his last roll is not known exactly.

During the construction of our bakery we found a curiosity dating back to that time. In a crevice was hidden a well preserved antique “Lucko praline” which even after all the decades still smelled a little like chocolate.

Since 2010 baking has returned to this historic site and we sincerely hope that master bakers Haubold and Lucko are pleased with us.
Image Gallery: History >

Back to Top

Kaffeerösterei

Kaffee und Kakao Rösterei

Wir lieben exzellenten Kaffee!

Und nur das möchten wir Ihnen auch anbieten. Deshalb werden alle unsere Kaffee & Kakaosorten, hier in unserer Ladenrösterei frisch und nur aus besten Rohbohnen Süd & Mittel Amerikas, Asiens, oder Afrikas für Sie geröstet. Von der sorgfältigen Auswahl unserer Rohkaffees und Rohkakaos, über das Rösten, bis hin zu den Mischungen, die wir herstellen, legen wir größtes Augenmerk auf ein perfektes Produkt.

Unsere, durch die Kunst des klassischen Röstverfahrens veredelten Kaffeespezialitäten, unterscheiden sich grundlegend von industriell hergestellten Kaffeeprodukten. Wir rösten unsere Kaffees, in einem traditionellen Trommel­röster, besonders langsam, in kleinen Mengen und bei niedrigen Temperaturen, speziell abgestimmt auf die jeweiligen Sorten. Dadurch werden die über 800 verschiedenen Aromen der Kaffeebohnen optimal zur Geltung gebracht und es entstehen besonders aromatische, sehr verträgliche und säurearme Kaffees.

Gerne können sie uns beim Rösten über die Schulter schauen, den Duft nach Kaffee und Schokolade genießen und dem Knistern der frischen Röstung lauschen. Alle unsere Kaffees können Sie natürlich gerne bei uns probieren und auch für Zuhause, in ganzen Bohnen oder frisch gemahlen erwerben. Oder ganz einfach in unserem Onlineshop bestellen.
Bildergalerie: Kaffeerösterei >

Backstube

Backstube

Wie früher, von Hand mit Liebe gebacken

Backen ist eine Kunst, die aus Liebe zum Handwerk, viel Können und feinsten Zutaten entsteht. Alle unsere Kuchen und Torten werden deshalb, wie früher, noch von Hand mit genau dieser Liebe und den besten Zutaten in unserer eigenen Tortenmanufaktur für Sie hergestellt.

Aus unserer Backstube kommen aber nicht nur die feinsten Kuchen & Torten, sondern auch die Brötchen und das im Steinofen gebackene Sauerteigbrot für unsere leckeren Frühstücke. Wir lassen unseren Frühstücksbrötchen noch die Zeit, die sie brauchen um zu gehen. Dazu noch Mehl, Hefe, Salz und Wasser, dass ist alles was für ein ehrliches Brötchen nötig ist. Etwas anderes kommt deshalb bei uns auch nicht hinein.

Jeder der möchte, kann uns gern bei unserer Arbeit durch das große, alte Berlin Fabrikfenster zuschauen und sich beim Duft aus der Backstube Appetit holen.
Bildergalerie: Backstube >

Süßes

Süßes

Jedes Stück die reinste Gaumenfreude

Jede unserer Torten ist eine feine Gaumenfreude. Dabei verbinden wir überliefertes, traditionelles Wissen, mit zeitgemäßen Rezepten, angelehnt an die moderne französische Konditorei.

Mit über 30 verschiedenen Torten und Kuchen, die saisonal wechseln, bietet das Pakolat ein reichhaltiges Sortiment, bei dem jeder Tortenliebhaber ins Schwelgen kommt. So finden Sie im Sommer viele, zarte Früchte- & Mousse-Torten in unserem Programm und genießen in den kalten Jahreszeiten vielleicht unsere feinen Schokoladen & Nusstorten.

Jeder der möchte, kann uns gern bei unserer Arbeit durch das große, alte Berlin Fabrikfenster zuschauen und sich beim Duft nach frisch gebackenen, warmen Kuchen aus der Backstube Appetit holen.
Bildergalerie: Süßes >

Spezialanfertigungen

Tortenbestellungen

Für Hochzeiten und besondere Anlässe

Aus unserem Sortiment

Möchten Sie eine ganze Torte aus unserem Sortiment? Sehr gerne nehmen wir Ihre Tortenbestellung entgegen. Bitte bedenken Sie aber dabei: Gute Dinge brauchen Ihre Zeit! Geben Sie uns bitte 1 bis 3 Tage Vorlauf, damit wir Ihre Bestellung in unsere Planungen mit einbeziehen können.

Spezialanfertigungen

Benötigen Sie vielleicht etwas ganz Spezielles? Für Ihre besonderen Anlässe, wie Hochzeiten, Taufen, Geburtstage oder Firmenfeiern, fertigen wir gerne individuelle Einzelstücke an, speziell für Sie ganz nach Ihren Wünschen. Setzen Sie sich bitte frühzeitig mit uns in Verbindung (minimum 3 Wochen vorher), damit wir einen Termin für ein erstes, unverbindliches Gespräch machen können. Gerne können Sie Fotos von Ihrer Wunschtorte, ein Stoffmuster von Ihrem Hochzeitskleid, Einladungskarten o.ä. als Anhaltspunkt zum Gespräch mitbringen. Sprechen Sie uns einfach an, wir versuchen alle Ihre Wünsche zu erfüllen.

Die Tortenmanufaktur Pakolat freut sich auf Ihre Bestellung! Tel: (030) 44 79 38 83
Bildergalerie: Spezialanfertigungen >

Herzhaftes

Herzhaftes

Sorgfältig ausgewählte Köstlichkeiten

Wem der Sinn nach Herzhaftem steht, der ist bei uns von morgens bis abends gut versorgt. Ob bei einem üppigen Kaiser Frühstück, mit hauchdünnem, auf unserer historischen Berkel B2 geschnittenem Serrano Schinken und feinem französischem Käse, oder gerne auch bei einem Veganen Frühstück, hier sollte jeder fündig werden.

Immer eine hervorragende Basis zu jeder Tageszeit, bringt eine dicke Scheibe Pakolats-Sauerteigbrot aus unserem Steinbackofen. Belegt ganz nach Ihrem persönlichen Geschmack mit zartem Schinken, Salami, Käse oder feinsten Aufstrichen. So wird bei uns jeder Hunger gut versorgt.

Die hierfür verwendeten Produkte erwerben wir nach Möglichkeit auf lokalen Märkten, direkt bei den Herstellern, oder wo dies nicht möglich ist, bei besonders ausgewählten Feinkosthändlern. Es geht uns dabei besonders um gute, natürliche und integere Lebensmittel im eigentlichen Sinn des Wortes.
Bildergalerie: Herzhaftes >

Heiße Köstlichkeiten

Heiße Köstlichkeiten

Entspannen und Geniessen

Wir servieren Ihnen das Beste aus der Bohne. Die Sorgfalt unserer Barista, viel handwerkliches Können, das exakte Einhalten von Mengen, Brühzeiten und Temperaturen, sind die Grundlagen unserer Kaffees, die bei uns größte Beachtung finden. Damit unsere frisch gerösteten Kaffees sich für Sie auch in der Tasse bestens entfalten können, bereiten wir unsere Spezialitäten mit zwei unterschiedlichen Methoden zu.

Zum einen mit einer FAEMA E 61. Eine in den frühen 60er Jahren entwickelten halbautomatischen, italienischen Maschine, die bis heute Maßstäbe bei der Zubereitung eines exzellenten Espresso setzt. Für unsere Espressospezialitäten verwenden wir hierbei unsere hauseigene Espressomischung „No 2“ aus bestem 60% Arabica- & 40% Robustakaffee.

Eine Rowenta Doppelfilter – Kaffeemaschine aus dem Jahr 1955 kommt bei unseren klassischen Kaffeegetränken zum Einsatz. Bei dieser Maschine wird der frisch gemahlene Kaffee mit ca. 0,5 bar Druck durch zwei separate Filter geleitet. Diese Methode ermöglicht es hervorragend, alle spezifischen Eigenheiten unserer unterschiedlichen Kaffeesorten mit ihren über 800 verschieden Aromen voll zur Geltung zu bringen.

Neben unseren vielen Kaffeespezialitäten erwarten Sie u.a. noch über 20 Sorten an ausgewählten offenen Tees mit exzellentester Blattqualität. Natürlich finden Sie bei uns auch feinste heiße Trinkschokoladen aus bester französischer Valrhona Schokolade. Desweiteren können Sie auch frische Ingwer-, Zitrus- oder Früchtegetränke geniessen.
Bildergalerie: Heiße Köstlichkeiten >

Historie

Historie

Über 110 Jahre Backgeschichte

Die Raumerstr. 40 verbindet sich mit über 110 Jahren Backgeschichte. Das 20. Jahrhundert hatte grade begonnen, als der junge Bäckermeister Albin Haubold im Jahre 1901 hier in der Raumerstr. 40 die erste Feinbäckerei eröffnete. Bis zu seiner Pensionierung führte er, über Jahrzehnte hin, erfolgreich die Backstube. Irgendwann in den 40er Jahren zog dann die Bäckerei Otto Lucko in die Raumerstr. 40 ein und blieb vermutlich bis Anfang der 70er Jahre bestehen. Wann genau das letzte Brötchen von Lucko’s gebacken wurde ist nicht genau belegt.

Ein originales Kuriosum aus dieser Zeit fand sich aber beim Ausbau unserer neuen Backstube. In einer Ritze hatte eine vollständig erhaltene historische „Lucko-Praline“, die sogar auch noch etwas nach Schokolade roch, die Jahrzehnte überdauert.

Seit 2010 wird in der Raumerstr.40 wieder an historischer Stelle gebacken und wir hoffen, dass die Bäckermeister Haubold und Lucko auch mit uns zufrieden sind.
Bildergalerie: Historie >

Back to Top